Accreditation Status Conferred On Twenty-Six Agencies

The Commission on Fire Accreditation, International (CFAI) convened in Denver, Colorado on August 1-2, 2012.  Twenty eight (28) fire/rescue agencies were represented by their Chief, Accreditation Manager, City/Elected Officials and their CFAI Peer Team Leader.  During twelve hours of deliberations, thirteen agencies received their Accredited Agency Status, three of which are Department of Defense fire agencies; thirteen received Reaccredited Agency Status, while two received Deferral Status.

Fire/EMS representatives received direct and challenging questions from CFAI Commissioners before a vote was taken.  “This process embodies a pursuit of excellence within the fire industry; measure each and every aspect of your organization and benchmark your findings towards continuous quality improvement.  We are seeing more and more organizations who meet these industry challenges and institutionalize the core values of accreditation into how their agencies are managed, and for that the Commission remains proud to refer to them as internationally accredited fire departments.” says Chief Allan Cain (Cary NC), CFAI Chairman.

Accredited Agency Status was approved for the following agencies:

  • Broward Sheriff’s Office Department of Fire Rescue and Emergency Services, Broward County FL
  • Camp Lejeune Fire and Emergency Services, Camp Lejeune NC
  • Castle Rock Fire and Rescue, Castle Rock CO
  • City of Newark Division of Fire & EMS, Newark OH
  • Cunningham Fire Protection District, Arapahoe County CO
  • El Paso Fire Department, El Paso TX
  • Fort McCoy Fire and Emergency Services, Fort McCoy WI
  • Metro West Fire Protection District, St. Louis County MO
  • Monroe Fire Department, Monroe NC
  • Naval Air Station Joint Reserve Base New Orleans Fire and Emergency Services, New Orleans LA
  • Olathe Fire Department, Olathe KS
  • Regina Fire and Protective Services, Regina SK Canada
  • West Metro Fire Protection District, Lakewood CO

Reaccredited Agency Status was also approved for the following agencies:

  • Barking Sands Fire Department, Pacific Missile Range Facility, Kekaha HI
  • Beachwood Department of Fire Rescue, Beachwood OH
  • Columbus Division of Fire, Columbus OH
  • Greensboro Fire Department, Greensboro NC
  • Highland Park Fire Department, Highland Park IL
  • Lenexa Fire Department, Lenexa KS
  • Naperville Fire Department, Naperville IL
  • Roanoke Fire-EMS, Roanoke VA
  • Skokie Fire Department, Village of Skokie IL
  • St. Petersburg Fire & Rescue, St. Petersburg FL
  • Tempe Fire Department, Tempe AZ
  • Washington Township Fire Department, Dublin OH
  • Wilson Fire/Rescue Services, Wilson NC

For more information, visit

No posts to display